Puffin unveils Doctor Who ebook series

11 short stories based on each of the Doctors to launch as part of 50th anniversary celebrations.
Publish date:

Puffin has teamed up with BBC Worldwide to publish an exclusive series of 11 ebooks, each based on one of the 11 Doctors, as part of the 50th anniversary celebrations for the brand.

Each short story (priced at £1.99) will be written by a different author - bringing together some of the most exciting names in children's fiction. The authors will each bring their own interpretation and reimagining of their chosen Doctor to create a unique adventure.

The author of the first story - featuring the First Doctor played by William Hartnell (1963-1966) - will be revealed on the BBC Worldwide Doctor Who Facebook page on Monday January 7th, ahead of publication on January 23rd.

The authors of the subsequent eshorts will be unveiled on the Facebook page on the first Monday of every month throughout the year.

A paperback anthology of the 11 stories - the Doctor Who Anniversary Anthology (£7.99) - will be published, along with the final eshort featuring the 11th Doctor, on November 23rd.

"Penguin Children's has been the proud home of children's Doctor Who publishing for eight years, and to be part of the 50th anniversary is incredibly exciting," said Juliet Matthews, publisher at Penguin Children's. "This is a who's who of children's fiction coming together to celebrate the much-loved Doctor Who."

Want to receive up to the minute licensing industry news straight to your inbox? Click here to sign up for the free Licensing.biz Daily Digest and Newsflash services. You can also follow Licensing.biz on Twitter and Facebook.


Featured Jobs

Rainbow logo landscape_home of classic Final

Product Manager

Rainbow Designs Ltd I Olympia, London I Salary: Competitive I Date Published Wednesday 16th January 2019