Children's Media Conference branded success

575 delegates attend the inaugural event in Sheffield from June 30th ? July 2nd.
Publish date:

Anna Home, conference chair said: "The first CMC proved that even in, or perhaps because of, challenging times there is thirst in the kids’ media industries for content and contacts.

"The cross section of talent which gathered in Sheffield was a tribute to the industry’s capacity to collaborate and in doing so seek out innovative partnerships and new creative and business opportunities.

"It was a gathering dedicated to creating the best quality media and entertainment for kids and it was impressive to see how the speakers and delegates rose to this challenge. The Children’s Media Conference is a worthy successor to the Showcomotion Conference which ran from 2004 to 2009."

The Children’s Media Conference 2010 was officially kick-started by children’s author, actor, director and producer, Henry Winkler. The author explored the 2010 conference theme: ‘How can children’s media make a positive impact on kids’ lives?’

Key speakers at the conference this year included author and screenwriter Anthony Horowitz (Stormbreaker, Foyle’s War); authors Francesca Simon (Horrid Henry) and David Almond (Skellig); legendary Mr Benn creator David McKee.

There were over 90 contributors, including Julie Meyer, BBC Online Dragon and Venture Capitalist; Jane Burton, Head of Content and Creative Director of Tate Media; John Carolan from Sainsbury’s; Mike Godolphin, Butlin’s Head of Entertainment; David Graham, CEO Attentional; Stephanie Barton, MD, Penguin Children’s; Paul Gravett, Comica Festival; Rob McMenemy, MD Egmont Publishing; Barbara Robinson, Category Manager Mothercare; Lizzie Spratt, Commissioning Editor Walker Books.

Delegates were keen to do business. Buyers and commissioners attending included: Michael Carrington, Daniel Lennard and Cecilia Persson (Turner); Joe Godwin, Damian Kavanagh and Kay Benbow (BBC Children’s); David Libbert (Teachers TV); Matt Locke, Alice Taylor and Jo Twist (Channel 4); Debbie MacDonald (Nickelodeon); Sarah Miller and John Millner (BBC Learning); Paul Robinson (KidsCo); Orion Ross and Julie Adair (Disney); Emma Tennant (CITV); Ross-Russell (BBC Worldwide); and Vicky Shroderus (YLE), Gregory Watson, MD Fun Kids Radio.

The conference returns to Sheffield in the summer of 2011; dates will be announced in the autumn.


Featured Jobs

Rainbow logo landscape_home of classic Final

Product Manager

Rainbow Designs Ltd I Olympia, London I Salary: Competitive I Date Published Wednesday 16th January 2019