The RNLI sees off competition for Toy Designer of the Year accolade at 2019 Play Creators Festival

The Royal National Lifeboat Institution has come out on top amid strong competition for the coveted Toy Designer of the Year for Licensed Product at this year’s Play Creators Awards.

Designers Mike Wyatt and Matthew Wright saw off competition from the creative minds behind products such as Trends UK’s Count with Peppa, Alpha Group’s Spongebob SquarePants Master Piece Meme Collection and Fisher-Price’s Thomas and Friends Track Master Dragon Escape Set to take the accolade for the pair’s creation, the RNLI Inshore Lifeboat Play Set.

Meanwhile, Spin Master, TOMY, and the team behind the Rubik’s Cage have also been named among the worthy winners at this year’s Awards – an event for the toy design and inventor community held on the first night of Mojo Nation’s Play Creators Festival.

Held at London’s Under the Bridge on Monday, September 2, the event celebrated the toy and game industry’s design talent that saw Spin Master, FUSE London, and Moose Toys UK take to the stage among the evening’s winners, while the Design Icon accolade went to TOMY’s own Alpesh Patel.

Curated by Mojo Nation as part of its two-day London event, the Play Creators Festival, made up of a conference day on the most pressing issues in the toy design and invention space, and a day in which designers and inventors can pitch their concepts to toy companies, has been heralded as a gem within the industry and the talent it draws.

Another licensed product category saw Open 2 Design take the top spot for its Rubik’s Cage designed for University Games. The team emerged triumphant over the likes of Big Potato’s Blockbuster Game, Mantic Games’ Hellboy: The Board Game, and USAopoly’s Thanos Rising in the Game Designer of the Year (Licensed Product) category.

The full line-up of winners can be found below:

TOY DESIGNER OF THE YEAR – Sponsored by Si Digital
· Bang Zoom – Yellies! (Hasbro)
· Dominic Yard – Tech Deck Sk8 Container Pro (Spin Master)
· Louise McGettrick – Fugglers (Spin Master)
· SoSound & Tricky – Tweet Beats (Identity Games)
· Triclops Studio – Pups In Cups (Golden Bear)
· WINNER: Moose Toys UK – Scruff-a-Luvs (Moose Toys UK)

· Adam Borton – Oops Scoops (Yulu)
· Brett J. Gilbert & Matthew Dunstan – Fairy Tile (Iello)
· Chris Naylor & Rich Walton – Avocado Smash (Ridley’s Games)
· WINNER: Don Ullman, Bob Driscoll & Rob Daviau – Bank Attack (Megableu)
· Jono & Nick Green – The Sock Game (Spin Master)
· IDEO – Plumber Pants (Hasbro)

·  Hal Duncan & Ruth Veevers – Cryptid (Osprey Games)
·  Marc Paquien – Treasure Island (Matagot)
·  WINNER: Elizabeth Hargrave – Wingspan (Stonemaier Games)
·  Michael Fox & Rory O’Connor – Holding On: The Troubled Life of Billy Kerr (HUB Games)
·  The Fantastic Factory – Stupid Deaths (University Games)
·  Trevor Benjamin & David Thompson – War Chest (AEG)

R&D TEAM OF THE YEAR – Sponsored by Wynne-Jones IP

·  Alpha Group
·  Big Potato
·  Hasbro
·  Ravensburger
·  WINNER: Spin Master
·  Worlds Apart/Moose
·  Zuru

·  Bang Zoom
·  Fuse London Ltd
·  Making Things Studio
·  Seven Towns
·  WINNER: So Sound
·  This Is YARD
·  Triclops Studio

TOY DESIGNER OF THE YEAR (LICENSED PRODUCT) – Sponsored by The Toy Association
·  Carlos Mendoza – SpongeBob SquarePants Masterpiece Meme Collection (Alpha Group/Nickelodeon)
·  Dominic Yard & Gil Zalayet – Thomas & Friends Track Master Dragon Escape Set (Fisher-Price)
·  Fuse London Ltd & Spring Loaded Concepts – Paw Patrol Ride N Rescue Range (Spin Master/Nickelodeon)
·  Jo Gough – Count With Peppa (Trends UK/eOne)
·  Justin Ramsden – LEGO Stranger Things: The Upside Down set (LEGO/Netflix)
·  WINNER: Mike Wyatt & Matthew Wright – RNLI Inshore Lifeboat Play Set (Playpress Toys/RNLI)

·  Andrew Wolf & USAopoly – Thanos Rising (USAopoly/Disney)
·  Big Potato – Blockbuster: The Game (Big Potato/Blockbuster)
·  James M. Hewitt & Sophie Williams – Hellboy: The Board Game (Mantic Games/Dark Horse Comics)
·  Kristian Osterby, Nick Fallon, James Sheahan & Rob Harris – Kung Fu Panda: The Board Game (Modiphius Games/Universal)
·  WINNER: Open 2 Design – Rubik’s Cage (University Games/Rubik’s)
·  The Fantastic Factory, Kwasmo Enterprises, Playful Planet and Designed by Charles Darrow – Monopoly Cash Grab (Hasbro)

PLAY INNOVATOR OF THE YEAR – Sponsored by The Toy Association
·  Bang Zoom – Mr Potato Head Movin’ Lips (Hasbro)
·  WINNER: Fuse London Ltd & Briology – Cool Maker KumiKreator (Spin Master)
·  Reach Robotics – Reach EDU (Reach Robotics)
·  Meir Biton – Storyball (Storyball)
·  Sadhbh Doherty – Sew & Glow Kit (Tech Will Save Us)
·  Wow! Stuff – Wizarding World Invisibility Cloak Illusion Costume (Wow! Stuff/Warner Bros)

RISING STAR AWARD – Sponsored by Alpha Group
·  Chris Naylor – Wild & Wolf
·  Joe Hearnden – Mookie Toys
·  WINNER: Ben Williams – Open 2 Design
·  Josh Wilde – Fuse London Ltd
·  Liz Ganrude – Learning Resources
·  Rob Earl-Ocran – SoSound
·  TJ Morrison – SoSound
·  Vina Arriaga – Fuse London Ltd

DESIGN ICON AWARD – Sponsored by Batman
· WINNER: Alpesh Patel – VP of Global Toy Design, TOMY


Exit mobile version