EA reveals book range for Nintendo DS

Games firm teams with kids' book and magazine publishers for FLIPS line.
Publish date:

Video games giant Electronic Arts is developing an innovative new book range especially created for the Nintendo DS.

Called FLIPS, the line has been designed to give children of all ages a new way to read their favourite books. EA has worked with some of the UK's leading publishers of children's books and magazines - including Egmont and Penguin - on the creation of the range.

Each FLIPS title features multiple books and the first four titles will be rolled out on the handheld in the UK on December 4th.

Authors will include Enid Blyton, Eoin Colfer and Cathy Cassidy. Book titles will include The Enchanted Wood, The Magic Faraway Tree, Angel Cake, Artemis Fowl, Silent But Deadly, French Fright and Ghoul Dinners among others.

"FLIPS is a brilliant way of getting children into reading who may love their DS but may not normally pick up a book," said Cally Poplak, director at Egmont Press. "At Egmont we are passionate about bringing stories to life for children, so the development of new platforms for reading are incredibly exciting for us."

Keith Ramsdale, VP and general manager, UK, Ireland and Nordics at EA, added: "FLIPS offers a great way to bring books to life on a platform that is incredibly popular with kids. With multiple books on each game card, FLIPS makes a great value Christmas gift for children of all ages."

Each FLIPS title - featuring six to eight books - will be sold separately for £24.99.


Featured Jobs

Rainbow logo landscape_home of classic Final

Product Manager

Rainbow Designs Ltd I Olympia, London I Salary: Competitive I Date Published Wednesday 16th January 2019